Vodacom Group Limited (Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa) (Registration number 1993/005461/06) Share code VOD ISIN ZAE000132577 ADR code VDMCY ISIN US9258D2009 ("Vodacom" or "the company")

## APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN AND LEAD INDEPENDENT DIRECTOR

Shareholders are referred to the SENS announcement published on 3 April 2017 which informed that Mr Peter Moyo, Chairman of the company will retire and step down from the Board at the forthcoming annual general meeting to be held on Tuesday 18 July 2017.

The Board of Vodacom is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr Jabu Moleketi, current independent non-executive director, to the role of Chairman of the company with effect from Wednesday 19 July 2017. Mr Moleketi was first appointed to the Board of Vodacom in November 2009. He will also take over as chairman of the Nomination Committee and step down from the Audit, Risk & Compliance Committee.

The Board is further pleased to announce the appointment of Mr Sakumzi (Saki) Macozoma as lead independent director of the company also with effect from Wednesday 19 July 2017. Mr Macozoma (60 years) has a BA (Hons) from the University of South Africa (Unisa) and is a prominent businessman in South Africa. He is the chairman of Safika Holdings and Tshipi é Ntle and Ntsimbintle Mining and a director at Volkswagen South Africa. Saki was a former chairman of Liberty Life Holdings and chairman of Standard Bank. He was also a former president of Business Leadership South Africa. In 2012 he was recoginised for his work in civil society where Unisa bestowed on him the Calabash award for his fight against oppression during the apartheid regime. The Calabash award is one of the highest honours that could be bestowed on an individual by Unisa.

Mr Macozoma will also be appointed to the Audit Risk & Compliance Committee which would then be reconstituted as follows:

DH Brown (Chairman) BP Mabelane S Macozoma

Midrand 15 June 2017 Sponsor: UBS South Africa (Pty) Limited